Board of Trustees & Executive Leadership

Valor Health is led by dedicated volunteer trustees and experienced and visionary leaders. 

Valor Health is governed by its Board of Trustees, which consists of nine members. Board members are appointed by the Board of Gem County Commissioners (the “County Board”) for terms of three years and until a successor is appointed and qualified. Members of the Valor Health Board must be residents of the county and are selected from various localities of the county. The Board, at its discretion, may change the number of board members with the minimum being five members and the maximum being fifteen.

The Valor Health Board is charged with the care, custody, upkeep, management, and operation of all longing to the county and devoted to hospital purposes. The Board is responsible for all money received by the hospital, must provide monthly financial reports to the County Board and must publish an annual financial statement reflecting financial operations of the hospital. The board meets on the last Tuesday of each month at 7:00 am.

The current officers and members of the hospital board are as follows:

Anita Taylor – Chair

Shane Roe- Vice Chair

Dave Shaw – Past Chair

Judy Barbera

Bill Butticci (County Commissioner)

Earl DeFur

Mark Maxfield

Larissa Kimball

Deborah Newton

James Thomson, MD Medical Staff President

Brad Turpen, CEO

As per Idaho statute 74-204

The notice for meetings and agendas shall also be posted electronically if the entity maintains an online presence through a website or a social media platform.

Last Tuesday of each month, 7:00 at Valor Health Community Education Classroom, 1024 Fernlee Street, Emmett, Idaho 83617. The public is invited to attend. For agendas and meeting notes, please visit

Board Meeting

Executive Leadership

Brad Turpen

Chief Executive Officer- Brad Turpen, FACHE, FACMPE